If you are playing an uninjured Captain Ironhide and you want to trigger his Bot mode ability, can you swap on an Energon Axe?
No. Energon Axe can only be put on damaged characters.
You previously ruled that Captain Ironhide
can't use his Bot Mode ability to swap his weapon for an Energon Axe if he is undamaged. Does this also extend to other Upgrade movement effects? Does this mean I can't use Quartermaster
or Private Red Heat
to move an Energon Axe in play from a damaged character to an undamaged one?
That is correct. Energon Axe can only be put on damaged characters.