Aequitas FAQ
FAQ / Wave 1 / Characters /
View On

Insecticon Skrapnel - Insecticon Leader

  1. The extra damage doesn’t happen. The attacking character will deal only 3 damage.
  2. Yes. Any damage dealt to Insecticon Skrapnel while he’s defending will count. If the attacker has an
    ability that deals 1 damage to Insecticon Skrpanel, then he can’t take more than 2 more damage from
    the attack.
  3. If I had a team with Omega Supreme and Decepticon Skrapnel and someone attacked my Skrapnel for 15 damage but because of his ability (can only take 3 damage) Does two of those 3 damage go over to Omega Supreme? Therefore Skrapnel will only take 1 damage? [Source: WotC]
    Yes, you can choose to allocate the attack damage that way in this scenario.
  4. If I played Heroism on Insecticon Leader Skrapnel, would the redirected attack damage to Skrapnel still be reduced to 3? [Source: WotC]
    Yes, redirected damage from Heroism is still attack damage.
  5. My opponent has Wheeljack untapped and I have Skrapnel untapped. It's my turn and I flip Skrapnel to alt mode, then play I Still Function! to bring back Ransack in bot mode from the KO area. Then I attack with Ransack to Wheeljack, and after the flip of battle cards, Ransack is KO’d. Does Skrapnel’s ability trigger because of Ransack getting KO’d and make Wheeljack tap, letting me attack with Skrapnel? [Source: WotC]
    You can do either, but not both. If you want to tap a character using Skrapnel’s flip trigger, you must KO Ransack before he can attack. If you want to attack with Ransack, it will be too late to flip Skrapnel to utilize his flip trigger.
  6. The first answer you referenced is from an outdated FAQ. Please disregard.
  7. Is Pierce damage still considered attack damage? For example, if someone is attacking me with Pierce 4 against a character like Insecticon Skrapnel whose text is “can’t take more than 3 damage during an attack”, does that mean even though they have Pierce 4 after adding attack damage, would they only do 3, or would they do 4? [Source: WotC]
    Pierce is an ability that applies to attack damage. But, effects like Insecticon Skrapnel’s or the Safeguard ability will still apply. In your example, Skrapnel would take only 3 damage.
  8. No and no. Stars on upgrade cards do not count towards the star counts of characters.
  9. Does Grimlock's bot mode’s extra damage count as attack damage? If it does, and assuming Grimlock has 5 or more extra damage, how much damage does it do in the following situations:
    A. Damage is assigned to a bit with Force Field equipped.
    B. Damage is assigned to Insecticon Skrapnel in bot mode.
    C. Any bot that is protected by Motormaster alt mode skill. [Source: WotC]
    The extra damage is not attack damage, so if you are redirecting to a bot-mode Skrapnel or a character with a force field on it, they will take the full additional damage. On the other hand, a damage-capping effect on the character you’re attacking will be relevant. So, if you have a Skrapnel in bot-mode with 5 damage on him and Grimlock attacks him for say 10 damage, that damage will be reduced to 3 by Skrapnel’s ability, 2 of it will KO him, and the last point will be assigned to another character of the defending player’s choice.
  10. Grimlock in Bot mode attacks with 10 attack. Insecticon Skrapnel in Bot mode defends with 0 defense and 1 hp remaining. What would the transferred damage be? Will it transfer 2 damage or 9 damage? [Source: WotC]
    Two damage!
  11. Can you also go into more depth about the rulings for Megatron - Living Weapon and Insecticon Skrapnel? I found it very confusing that MLW can swap a Weapon in his Armor Slot via Swap Parts and that Skrapnel treats Metroplex's 1 Damage to all Opponents as Attack Damage. [Source: WotC]
    The Skrapnel ruling has been corrected. The 1 damage to all opponents is not attack damage. The Megatron question is a little ambiguous. If you play Swap parts on a Megatron with a weapon in his armor slot, you can move it to another character and put it into their weapon slot. If Megatron had two weapons, you would have to choose which one the other character kept. If you are swapping a weapon from the other character to Megatron in bot mode, you can put it into any of his slots. If you are swapping a weapon and armor from another character to Megatron, Living Weapon in bot-mode, the legal assignments are (Weapon in the weapon slot, armor in the armor slot; Weapon in the utility slot, armor in the armor slot; weapon in the armor slot, armor also in the armor slot, then one of them gets scrapped).